0 Items


Jerusalem is one of the world's oldest and most holy cities. It is the capital city of Israel.  Jerusalem can be divided into the Old City and the New City.

The Old City is surrounded by an ancient stone wall and is made up of four quarters: Jewish, Armenian, Christian, and Muslim.

The residents of the Jewish Quarter are mostly religious Jews.  The most holiest site in the Jewish Quarter is the Western Wall, or Wailing Wall, which is a remmant of the Holy Temple.

The Armenian Quarter is the smallest quarter.  It was inhabited by the Armenians in the 4th century.  The beautiful St. James Cathedral is the center of Armenian people in Israel.

The Christian Quarter has more that 40 churches, monasteries and hostels that were built for Christian pilgrims.  The Church of the Holy Sepulchre, or the Church of the Resurrection, and the Via Delorosa which Jesus walked on his way to his crucifixion are important Christian sites.  

The Muslim Quarter is the largest and newest quarter in the Old City.  The most important sites in the Moslem Quarter are sacred sites for the Moslem faith such as the Dome of the Rock on the Temple Mount.   

The New City's construction outside of the Old City Walls began in the late 19th century.  The first neighborhood was Mishkenot Sheananim with its famous windmill which was meant to provide a livelihood for the New City's first residents.  Since then the city has continued to grow and is now Israel's largest city.

As Israel's capital it houses the government buildings including the Knesset (Israeli parliament.)  Jerusalem has many archeological sites, museums, a shuk (outdoor marketplace), promenade, biblical zoo and botanical gardens.

Back to Israel 

Back to Learning Center


Please Wait.... Coupon does not contain letters, numbers only. Expierd or invalid coupon Store credit or Gift Card Empty Invalid coupon code Your cart has not met the minimum amount to use this coupon. * Required Field Coupon found. Recalculating total...